SURROUNDED BY A GANG OF CABRONES!

It happens to all writers. Early in the morning you look at the beautiful prose you wrote yesterday; visual, well structured, rhythmic, perfectly balanced – beautiful! And you say, “Who wrote this garbage!” When I gave a talk to young writers at Kansas State University some years ago, I remember advising them to undertake some no-brainer activity to cleanse the mind and give it another go. The concept really works. Agatha Christie used to say that the best time to plot a new novel is when you’re doing the dishes. Well, of course, I don’t do dishes,  so I decided a long walk would have the same benefits. I hiked six miles through the rugged hills on my way to the waterfall with the intention of allowing the music of the cataract to do the job. Never got there. I was suddenly surrounded by the gang of cabrones you see above.  And they looked mean. There may have been a cabra or two among the bunch but I wasn’t about to investigate. I ran right back to my work in progress.  I don’t know much about goat breeds but I would be eternally grateful if some one out there could identify the gang leader with the big horns.

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “SURROUNDED BY A GANG OF CABRONES!

  1. Michelle

    Did they scare some good ideas out of you?

Leave a Reply

